i am selfish. with my blackness.

i am selfish.

with my Blackness.

my Black features.

i am selfish with my Black tears.

because i’ve cried everyday. for my people.

i am selfish with my Black hands.

because i’ve had them up in surrender. for so long.

i am selfish with my black heart.

because i opened my home. to a stranger.

he stole my land.

sold my people.

scared my body.

taught me to hate. my culture. myself.

and now. he denies me.

my Black tears. hands and heart

have been crippled.

i am selfish with my black tears.

so don’t expect me to cry. for anyone.

i am selfish with my black hands.

so don’t expect me to open them. for anyone.

i am selfish with my heart.

so do not expect me. to love easy.

i am selfish. with my black features.

because everyone wants them. and not me.

i am selfish with my Blackness.

rightfully so.

2 Replies to “i am selfish. with my blackness.”

    1. Thank you so much Shebby. I am so glad you could speak with these words. Yes be proud. say it. feel it. show off the melanin. I wish i could show every Black person how much beauty. strength. and courage they have. i guess thats why i have a blog. thank you again

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment